Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

TLU Volleyball drops two close matches at Cal Lu Fornia Invitational

Photo by Dustin Wyatt.
Photo by Dustin Wyatt.

THOUSAND OAKS, Calif. -- Texas Lutheran Women's Volleyball dropped a pair of tough matches Friday at the Cal Lu Fornia Invitational, hosted by California Lutheran University.

TLU fell in five sets in its tournament opener to Puget Sound (Wash.) 19-25, 21-25, 25-22, 25-22, 24-22. Against the host Cal Lutheran, TLU lost in four, 24-26, 25-19, 25-21, 25-22.

The Bulldogs' overall record now stands at 3-3.

Against Puget Sound, the Bulldogs rushed out to the 2-0 lead in sets by holding Puget Sound to -.139 and .205 hitting percentages in the first two sets. TLU hit a stellar .357 in set two with 12 kills and only two errors on 28 attempts.

TLU had seven match points in the back-and-forth fifth set. TLU's first match point came at 14-13.

Bryten Mitchan and Madison Weisinger led TLU with 15 and 14 kills, respectively. Mitchan hit .423 for the match in 26 attempts. Weisinger hit .300 on 30 attempts. 

Jaci Chambers and Lexi Morris had 21 and 20 digs, respectively, and Peyton Sulak delivered a solo block and seven block assists. TLU had 14 total blocks. Mitchan added five block assists.

Chambers dished out 40 assists. TLU served seven aces.

Against Cal Lutheran, Mitchan posted 10 kills and five digs. Cailey Young contributed eight kills, two aces and eight digs. Chambers collected 21 assists and 17 digs. Adrienne Galaviz recorded 13 assists and 12 digs.

The Bulldogs continue play at the Cal Lu Fornia Invitational with matches Saturday against Chapman (Calif.) and Whittier (Calif.). The Bulldogs face Chapman at 5:45 central (3:45 pacific) and Whittier at 8 p.m. central (6 p.m. pacific).