Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

National champion Bulldogs to serve as Seguin Fourth of July parade marshals

Texas Lutheran celebrates 2019 NCAA Division III Softball National Championship.
Texas Lutheran celebrates 2019 NCAA Division III Softball National Championship.

SEGUIN, Texas – The Texas Lutheran Bulldogs, the 2019 NCAA Division III Softball National Champions, will serve as this year's parade marshals for Seguin's "Biggest Small-Town Fourth of July Parade in Texas."
The Bulldogs will ride through downtown Seguin in the parade this Thursday. The parade begins at 10 a.m. at the intersection of Austin and College streets. The parade route heads south on Austin Street and concludes at the Seguin Coliseum.
Seguin Mayor Don Keil invited the Bulldogs to serve as parade marshals when the team returned to campus on May 28 for a celebration reception.
The Bulldogs won the national championship in Tyler, Texas on May 27.
The national championship was TLU's first team championship as a member of the NCAA Division III. The national title was TLU's first since a women's volleyball national championship in the AIAW-II in 1976. TLU has won five team national championships and seven other individual or relay team national championships.

The Bulldogs defeated Emory (Ga.) twice on May 27 in the best-of-three championship series to earn the title and complete a stretch in which they won 19 of 20 games.

In their run to the national championship, the Bulldogs went undefeated in the NCAA National Championship Finals in Tyler and in the NCAA Marshall (Texas) Regional and went 2-1 against Linfield College at the McMinnville (Ore.) Super Regional.

Add their three victories en route to their sixth-straight Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Championship, and the Bulldogs were 13-1 overall in the postseason this year.

TLU went 18-5 against teams that were ranked or received votes in the NFCA Top 25 this season, including wins over Birmingham-Southern College (twice), Eastern Connecticut State University, East Texas Baptist University (twice), Emory University (twice), Linfield (twice), Southwestern University (five times), Transylvania University (twice), Trine University, and Williams College.

Head Coach Wade Wilson just completed his eighth season as head coach of the Bulldogs. He holds an overall mark of 282-66 (.810) with the Bulldogs. Wilson is the all-time wins record holder at TLU and is the most successful coach by winning percentage for any sport in school history.

With Wilson as head coach, TLU has won six consecutive SCAC tournaments. The Bulldogs are 19-1 all-time in SCAC tournament play.

TLU has played in six consecutive NCAA Division III Softball Championships. The Bulldogs are 17-11 all-time in NCAA postseason games. TLU has played in six consecutive NCAA regional rounds. The Bulldogs advanced to the Super Regional and World Series rounds this year for the first time in school history.