Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Green, Townes earn SCAC Men's Soccer All-Tournament honors

Green, Townes earn SCAC Men's Soccer All-Tournament honors

LAWRENCEVILLE, Ga. –- Texas Lutheran Men's Soccer teammates Luis Green and Cameron Townes were named Wednesday to the 2018 Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Men's Soccer All-Tournament Team. 

The Bulldogs entered the 2018 SCAC Tournament as the No. 4 seed and finished the 2018 season with an overall mark of 11-8. 

TLU won the SCAC Tournament quarterfinal match 5-1 over University of Dallas before falling 2-1 to 5th-ranked Trinity in the semifinals. 

SCAC Player and Newcomer of the Year, Green (Monterrey, Mexico/Smithson Valley), led the league in goals scored (18), points (38), shots (87) and in game-winning goals (6). Green became the sixth freshmen to lead the league in goals scored. Green saw action in all 19 of TLU's matches and made 17 starts this season. 

In addition, the 18 goals represent the fourth-highest single-season total in TLU history and the most in the DIII era. He earned SCAC Offensive POTW honors in Week 2 when he posted a hat trick at Centenary on Sept. 7. Green's selection as SCAC Offensive Player of the Year represents the first time a freshman has won the award in the 16-year history of the award. He also is the first TLU student-athlete to take home top offensive honors since the Bulldogs joined the SCAC prior to the 2014 season.

Townes (Cypress/Cypress Ranch) saw action in all 19 matches and made 18 starts this season. Townes recorded five goals, including a pair of goals in the 5-1 quarterfinal victory over Dallas. The junior defender registered 1458 minutes of play - the fourth-highest total on the team. Townes was second on the squad for game-winning goals, tied with teammate Nicolas Medina, with two. His first game-winner of the season was an overtime "golden goal" that lifted the Bulldogs to a 2-1 SCAC victory over Schreiner University.  

Green and Townes shared All-Tournament honors with players from Trinity and Southwestern. Trinity had five players earn all-Tournament recognition, followed by Southwestern with four selections.

Full All-Tournament Release