Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Uecker receives invitation to 2019 NCAA DIII Men's Golf Championships

Uecker receives invitation to 2019 NCAA DIII Men's Golf Championships

SEGUIN, Texas -- Texas Lutheran senior Colin Uecker (Kerrville/Tivy) received an invitation Monday to the NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships, which will be contested May 14-17 at Keene Trace Golf Club in Nicholasville, Ky.

The tournament will be hosted by Transylvania University.

Uecker (pronounced "EE-ker) is the second Bulldog in program history to receive an individual invitation to the NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships. Adam Peterson played in the 2015 NCAA Championships and finished eighth overall.

In 2019, Uecker has won five tournaments, including the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Championship. He has eight career collegiate victories.

Uecker currently ranks 10th nationally in the individual player rankings for NCAA Division III. Uecker has an adjusted scoring average of 71.79, and he is 24-1 against players ranked inside the top 100. He is 11-0 against players in the top 50.

Uecker is fourth in the NCAA DIII for par-4 scoring, at 4.02, and he is seventh in DIII in par-5 scoring, at 4.69.

At the NCAA Championships, the team and individual champions will be determined after 72 holes of play or the conclusion of the last fully-completed round.

Forty-two teams and six individuals not on one of those teams were selected to participate in the championships. After 36 holes of competition, the field will be cut to the top 18 teams and top six individuals not on one of those teams.

A total of 216 participants will compete at the 2019 championships.

Thirty-two conferences were awarded an automatic qualification for the championships.

Three teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that were members of conferences that did not meet the requirements for automatic qualification.

The final seven berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that were not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams.

The six individuals were selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected for the 2019 championships:
Conferences Receiving Automatic Qualification Berths (32)
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference  Pittsburgh-Bradford
American Rivers Conference Nebraska Wesleyan
American Southwest Conference Concordia University Texas
Capital Athletic Conference York (Pennsylvania)
Centennial Conference Gettysburg
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Illinois Wesleyan
Colonial States Athletic Conference Rosemont
Commonwealth Coast Conference Endicott
Empire 8 St. John Fisher
Great Northeast Athletic Conference  Johnson & Wales University (Providence)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Transylvania
Landmark Conference  Goucher
Liberty League New York University 
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Conference  Hope
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Stevenson
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Manhattanville
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference St. Thomas (Minnesota)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Trinity (Connecticut)
North Atlantic Conference  Husson
North Coast Athletic Conference Wittenberg
North Eastern Athletic Conference  Rutgers-Camden
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Aurora
Northwest Conference  Willamette 
Ohio Athletic Conference  Otterbein
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Washington and Lee
President's Athletic Conference Washington and Jefferson
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State
Southern Athletic Association Oglethorpe 
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference La Verne
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference  Webster
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Superior 
USA South Athletic Conference  Huntingdon

Pool B Berths (3)
Carnegie Mellon
Southwestern (Texas)

Pool C Berths (7)
North Carolina Wesleyan
Saint John's (Minnesota)

Individuals (6)
Preston DeSantis, Berry
Scott Campbell, Greensboro
Luke Smith, Hardin-Simmons
Brendon Lowrance, McMurry
Colin Uecker, Texas Lutheran
Sam Goldenring, Williams