Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

James Bell nominated for Cliff Harris Award for second straight season

James Bell nominated for Cliff Harris Award for second straight season

2018 Cliff Harris Award Nominees

SEGUIN, Texas -- Texas Lutheran redshirt sophomore safety James Bell (Houston/Lamar) is a nominee for the Cliff Harris Award for the second consecutive season.

The Cliff Harris Award is presented to the top small college defensive player in the country from nominees representing colleges and universities from the NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, and the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA).

Bell already has earned Third Team All-South Region and American Southwest Conference First Team All-Conference honors this year.

Bell is now a two-time All-Region and two-time All-ASC First Team selection.

In 2018, Bell intercepted a team-high four passes and had 105 yards in INT returns. It was the second consecutive year that Bell led the team in interceptions. He had six in 2017.
This season, Bell had two picks in the road win at Louisiana College. He returned the first one 55 yards for the game's opening touchdown. His second interception came on the Wildcats' final drive of the game. Bell's interception preserved a 41-36 TLU win in Pineville, La.
Bell finished third on the squad in total tackles (47), and he had a tackle for loss, five pass break-ups, a recovered fumble, and a blocked kick.

The Cliff Harris Award is given in honor of former All-Pro Dallas Cowboys safety Cliff Harris, who starred at Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia, Ark., before playing 10 years and appearing in five Super Bowls (winning two) with the Cowboys.

Harris was a six-time Pro Bowler. He was inducted into the Dallas Cowboys Ring of Honor in 2004.

The Cliff Harris Award is presented by the Little Rock (Ark.) Touchdown Club. In addition to naming the recipient of the Cliff Harris Award, the top vote-getter from each division also will be announced.

Finalists for the award will be released in one week, and the 2018 award winner will be announced on Dec. 24 and honored at an awards banquet on Jan. 10 at the Little Rock Touchdown Club.